Bedletter
Bedletter
Quit Your Binging
0:00
-56:33

Quit Your Binging

Photo captured by C. Ashliman

I hate binging, and yet that behavior still worms its way into my life at times. My most recent slip came at the hands of Netflix’s new hit, Squid Game. This week I’m yapping about the dangers of binging T.V., why I enjoyed Squid Game so much, and how great South Korean movie and show productions are.

Along with that, as I round one of the final corners of writing my book, I’ve been editing the early chapters in tandem. As I plan to have the main meat of the book finished by the end of 2021, the editing process has been a roller coaster. Some days I’m left liberated and excited about what I’ve omitted and what I’ve corrected. Other days, those editing decisions are much more difficult and maddening. Overall, the process of writing my book has been incredible—proving to me that I’m capable of big projects with intensely challenging aspects.

Finally, I’m wrapping up this episode with a yucky little bow—my previous video game addiction. As you may have read in a recent column I wrote, I’ve been dealing with some inclinations to dive back into gaming. With a newfound ability to exercise some self-control, I’m scared of touching one of my bigger weaknesses again. I don’t want to fall into the cycle of binging, and yet, I feel that I should be able to balance my game time appropriately. It’s an ongoing battle. And yes, that is an old picture of me with long hair. No shame, those locks were beautiful.

Subscribe at bedletter.substack.com
Follow Christian on Twitter @cashliman
Link to I’m Scared to Play Video Games column: https://bedletter.substack.com/p/im-scared-to-play-video-games

Bedletter with Christian Ashliman
I'm Scared to Play Video Games
There it is again. That annoying little tick, that push, that piece of me that wants to dive back in. It’s been there for a long time, ever since I first beat the living shit out of Mario, Link, and Kirby. Ever since I carefully popped a CD out of it’s case and gently placed it on the round knob…
Read more
0 Comments
Bedletter
Bedletter
If you thought the world was supposed to make sense, you were wrong. The covers are pulled back on Bedletter as we dive into what makes us unique, how powerful our minds are, and why it all matters.